Two More Bilingual Data Resources for Your CAT Tool

Several months ago I wrote a  blog post  listing a couple of online data resources for your CAT tool. Although there is an abundance of resources online, most of them are pricy and sometimes are not fit for the specialized translator. For this reason, I am always researching  for online  resources that I don’t  have to pay or download . Whenever  I am asked to download  a program I do get quite weary of it. Many of these sites are not  often registered sites and others as in the case of E-Type  which appeared  to be legitimate program, are actually computer viruses ( a dangerous one if I may add). I found the  following website  that resembled the resources I previously discussed in my original post and could quite possibly be the sixth bilingual data resource you could work with in your translations. The other I found is  not necessarily a TM  but rather cloud translation tool, which I found quite convenient and resourceful as well.

Glosbe

I came across Glosbe as another translation memory online tool. Not only is it an online dictionary but  it acts pretty much like MyMemory and Linguee, which I personally love and use often. It is a relatively new website ( early 2012)  and as the other two, will search phrases and  gives you samples of compound words and  context using the desired words. What a true TM supposed to be, a collection of human translated segments or clusters of text that is not based on Google translate but rather on translators contributions that you can upload through the TMX  file.  It also gives you  the possibility to contribute a translation through a TMX  file as well.

Ebiwrite

I can compare this cloud translation tool as a mix between Evernote and Dropbox . It is a web based translation tool in which you can translate directly online, save and  tag your translations according to subject and access them online whenever you need to.  I do love the idea of tagging my files, after many translations  your files do get quite cluttered and sometimes I forget how I actually named the file. This feature helps you find them quickly (at least in Evernote). Since they are in the cloud, like Dropbox you can access your files by logging into your account, sharing your files with other Ebiwrite users, building your own dictionaries and personalizing your account.  Given that is is web based it can be accessed by your smartphone and actually type in sample translations to be edited later. This is a paid feature but they have free plans as well.

Ok, there you have it.  I did not intend to have this post be a follow-up  of my original post but somehow they were quite related to each other.  I hope you found them useful as I have.

One thought on “Two More Bilingual Data Resources for Your CAT Tool

Leave a Reply

